top of page

BNC Events

We host regular in-person and virtual tours, re-occurring events designed to keep you informed about our current and future efforts, and events to celebrate the successes of our clinicians, staff, and clients.

Attending Bert Nash Center events is a great way to join our community, advocate for better behavioral health care in our community, and to meet likeminded people with a passion for whole-person care. 

No upcoming events at the moment

Board of Directors & Committee Meetings

Click the Learn More button to expand the meeting information. 

Access Meeting Minutes >


The Pioneer Award is given to an individual(s) in Douglas County whose efforts and achievements to secure accessible comprehensive community mental health services for all residents of Douglas County are exceptional and typify the progressive, caring spirit which led to the founding of the Bert Nash Community Mental Health Center. Below are the past recipients of the Pioneer Award.

2022: Kansas Suicide Prevention HQ

2021: Dr. Anthony Strickland

2020: Shannon Oury

2019: Douglas County Commissioners Derusseau, Kelly, Thellman as well as County Admin. Sarah Plinsky, Assistant County Admin. Jill Jolicoeur, & Director of Behavioral Health Projects Bob Tryanski

2018: Stephen Maceli

2017: Jean Milstead

2016: Bill Beedles

2015: Douglas County Law Enforcement Agencies

2014: Shirley Martin-Smith & Tersea Treanor

2013: Heartland Community Health Center

2012: Paul Taylor

2011: County Commissioners Thellman, Gaughan, Flory & County Administrator Craig Weinaug

2010: Mental Health in Douglas County in the 20th Century. Honoring the Nash family, the Menninger family and the Shaw / Witt family.

2009: Barbara Huppee & Pam Weigand

2008: Randy Weseman

2007: Former Kansas Governor Mike Hayden

2006: Dr. Max Graves

2005: O. Maurice & Betsy Joy

2004: Dolph Simons, Jr.

2003: Sandra J Shaw, Ph.D.

2002: Rick Trapp & Frank Shontz

2001: Lynwood Smith, M.D.

2000: Judge Jean F. Shepherd

1999: Michael Roberts, Ph.D.

1998: Carolyn Schroeder, Ph.D.

1997: Matthew N. Stein, M.D.

1996: William Binns

1995: Judge James W. (Bill) Paddock

1994: Dr. George & Carole Pinches & Dr. Charles Rapp

1993: Robert Oyler

1992: Lawrence Community Chest; Lawrence Lions Club; and, Bill Simons


1991: Jessie Branson & Lawrence Kiwanis Club

1990: Howard & Virginia O’Connor; Charles & Tensie Oldfather & Henry D. Remple

1989: Sam Adame; Arthur A. Heck; Betty Larson; Bettie-Lou Metsker; Judge Charles Rankin; Dr. James Stachowiak; & Margaret Wedge

1988: Charles Banning; Alwilna Burris; Dr. James Campbell; John Crown; Bernece Glass; Dr. Phillip A. & Phoebe Godwin; D. M. Harris; Jack Harris; Roseann Hurwitz; Dr. Ted Kennedy; Evadne Laptad; Ethel Lynn; Bill Mayer; Jesse Milan; Russ Mosser; Elmer W. Ousdahl; & John Weatherwax

1987: Richard Allen; Louise Cook; Donald Hults; Steve Jones; Dr. George Learned; Deane Malott; P. Everett Sperry; & Dr. M. Erik Wright

1986: William J. Brink; Mrs. Juliett Clapp; Judge Frank Gray; Dr. Sigmund Gundle; Dr. M. J. Horowitz; Mrs. Ogden Jones; Miss Electa Kindlesperger; Dr. Carl Knox; Dr. J. M. Mott; Dr. Bert & Ruth Nash; Dr. W. O. Nelson; Myrl Penny; Mrs. Henry Shenk; Dr. Henry P. Smith; Mrs. Frank T. Stockton; Charles D. Stough; Rev. Dale Turner; Miss Esther Twente; Mrs. Mildred Watson; Marcella Wolfson; & Dr. Parke Woodard

bottom of page